My weekend, from the sublime to the ridiculous (warning graphic images)

23 Mar

The weekend started well last friday when I was at a wedding at the same venue as the English Rugby Team’s training ground where I met Martin Johnson. Even though I’m Australian and I’m trained to hate, it was pretty cool although I felt slightly ridiculous about about wanting a photo with one of the more well known members of the team. Johnny Wilkinson saw the bride and said “are you sure?” which I know was a buzz for the her.

But on Saturday night, a day after the wedding, I started to get some stomach cramps and by bed time, I was in agony. About 3 in the morning, I called my NHS direct who were able to confirm it wasn’t a stroke, heart attack or meningococcal disease (no shit Sherlock) and a nurse would call imminently. It was pretty obvious for even me that I had something wrong with my appendix and I called my father in Australia who is a Doctor. He suggested I go to hospital and we did.

While I was sitting in A&E, about 4 hours after I called NHS direct, the nurse called me. I told her I was already in A&E and her help, that was needed 4 hours ago, was no longer required and that the wait was ridiculous. I then went into see a doctor and he referred me up to the ward where I remained for another 36 hours, not knowing if I was to go under the knife. The nurses were great as were the doctors, although I am the worst patient on earth and was constantly pissed of that a) I didn’t know whether I was going to be cut-up b) no one was telling me anything, mainly because it is a wait and see affliction c) I was imprisoned on a drip d) I was in ridiculous amounts of pain.

Eventually, on Monday afternoon the doctors said my appendix was settling down, so they let me out but I have to take it easy. So expect plenty of blogs over the next day and a half.

Anyway, below are some of the photos of my adventure and again, please note, one is maybe not for the squeamish.

The man is massive. I'm 6 foot 1 btw

It stung going in, but was worse coming out

I don't think I ever met my nurse "Sarah"

My wrist bracelets. I preferred the ones I got from Glastonbury

Like being on a long-haul flight, but with people stabbing me with needles

Like I'm Lindsay Lohan with an ankle locater

One Response to “My weekend, from the sublime to the ridiculous (warning graphic images)”

  1. Ged March 23, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Nice post Nick, could you cross post at Dot.coms?

Leave a Reply

